LIVESTRONG at the YMCA

I went this week to sign up for the LIVESTRONG Program for adult cancer survivors at the YMCA. It’s a 12 week program designed specifically for cancer survivors who are in that transitional period after completeing treatment.

I had been telling my husband that I wished there was some kind of program that would help cancer survivors rebuild strength, stamina, and muscle mass. I also need help losing weight. I have gained 17 pounds since my surgery. Anything to boost my non-existent metabolism would be helpful. I can’t afford a personal trainer and I’m too tired to do it on my own. I found out about the LIVESTRONG Program at the Y when I went to find out more about scheduling a mammogram at the one of the local hospital’s websites. I tried not to get too excited. It seemed too good to be true.

The lady I met with at the Downtown YMCA in Columbia, SC was amazing. She explained the program and asked me questions about my health. She asked me to tell my story. She listened. She acknowledged that I am a different person emotionally and physically since my treatment. No one has really done that before and I really needed to hear someone say that. I was afraid that I wouldn’t be accepted into the program because some people don’t consider thyroid cancer to be a real cancer. She told me that I shouldn’t discount my cancer because I didn’t have to go through as hard of a treatment as others. I wanted to hug her! She even introduced me to a guy who worked the front counter who was also a thyroid cancer survivor. I got to chat with him a few minutes. It was the first time I had met a thyca survivor face-to-face. So, overall, a very positive experience. The program starts towards the end of September. I go in next Tuesday for an intake and physical assessment with a trainer who has been trained by LIVESTRONG to work with cancer survivors. I’m so excited to get started! Oh, and it’s FREE!!

Here’s a link to more information about the LIVESTRONG at the YMCA Program.

Here’s a link to a map to help you find a LIVESTRONG at the YMCA Program near you.

Also, here is a video about the program. Have the tissues ready.

Leave a comment