Upcoming Surgery

A lot has gone on since the last time I posted an update in July of 2020. I had another alcohol ablation. I also had a multitude of doctor visits, sonograms, labwork, and scans. The alcohol ablation procedures succeeded in reducing 2 of my 3 malignant lymph nodes. The third malignant lymph node is located far back in the thyroid bed behind the carotid artery and not a candidate for alcohol ablation. We have been watching it and waiting for it to get big enough for surgery. Since November of 2020 it has had a growth spurt and now it’s time to get it out of my neck.

I’m traveling to Tampa, Florida on Saturday to be a patient of the Clayman Thyroid Center. I will be having thyroid cancer surgery next Tuesday to remove the 3 malignant lymph nodes in my neck and to have my neck cleaned out, so to speak. I will be under the care of three of the best thyroid cancer surgeons in the world. I’ll be in good hands. I’m nervous, scared, excited, etc., but am hopeful that I will finally be cancer free after this surgery.

Leave a comment