LID Round 3, Day 15

I got my tracer dose of radioactive iodine this morning. They didn’t give me any restrictions for eating or drinking beforehand, so I ate Overnight Oats and drank some coffee. I made the Overnight Oats to use up some of the So Delicious Coconut Creamer that was left. I was really happy with the results.

At the Nuclear Medicine Department, I was taken to a small room. A nurse came in to check my hospital ID bracelet and then cut it off of me. Another nurse came in with the heavy lead container that held my radioactive tracer dose. She dispensed my RAI pill into a little plastic pill cup and gave me a small bottle of water. She instructed me to take the pill without touching it and to drink some water. She checked to make sure I had swallowed the pill and sent me on my way with a list of precautions. I took the day off from work and went home. Although, I only got 3 mCi of radioactive iodine, there are still precautions I have to take. For instance, I have to flush twice after using the toilet, not use disposable dinnerware, and wash my dishes separately from my family’s dishes for a couple of days. No big deal. I was told it was safe for me to be around my family, but to not let my kids sit in my lap. My scan is Friday. I’m nervous, but ready for this to be over.

For lunch, I made nachos with some of the Daiya Shreds and a little bit of leftover taco meat. I topped them with lettuce, diced tomato, and salsa.

For dinner, I made one of my favorite meals, steak and baked potato. I got a 12 ounce New York Strip steak from Trader Joe’s and my husband and I split it. This is what we usually do. A whole steak is too much for us. I cooked the steak in a cast iron skillet. I pulled out the steak to rest and added some red wine to the skillet to reduce. Makes and awesome sauce for the steak. I ate the my baked potato with Earth’s Balance Spread and didn’t eat the potato skin. A tossed salad and a glass of red wine completed the meal.

I forgot to take pictures of my lunch and dinner today.

What I ate today:

Breakfast: Overnight Oats, Stōk cold brew coffee with Trader Joe’s Coconut Creamer

Lunch:  Nachos with Daiya shreds, leftover taco meat, lettuce, tomato, and salsa

Dinner:  Steak, baked potato (didn’t eat the potato skin), salad with Ken’s Steakhouse Zesty Italian dressing, and red wine

Leave a Reply

