LID Round 3, Day 14

I went to the Nuclear Medicine department this morning to get my second Thyrogen shot. Since I didn’t have to register or get blood work done, I was in and out of there quickly. Fortunately, other than being more tired than usual, I didn’t have any harsh side effects from the Thyrogen. I will go in to get my RAI tracer dose tomorrow morning and then have the scan on Friday. I can see the finish line. So glad this process is almost over.

For breakfast I had a couple of the leftover Baked Egg White Cups with spinach and mushrooms. They can be reheated in the microwave a few seconds for a quick breakfast. For lunch I had some leftover Garbanzo, Potato, and Spinach Curry. Thank goodness for leftovers!

I made tacos for dinner. This time around, I found out that Old El Paso Taco Shells are acceptable for the low iodine diet. Yay!  They are so much more convenient than frying your own (although those are super delicious, way better than store-bought).

Tacos are an easy meal. It can be as simple as ground beef in a crunchy taco shell with lettuce, tomato, and salsa. Add avocado to make up for the lack of cheese and/or sour cream. Avoid a taco seasoning mix, unless you can verify it is LID-safe. Many of them contain dairy ingredients. I use a combination of spices (cumin, garlic powder, salt-free chili powder, cayenne, etc…) to achieve the flavor I want. You can substitute ground chicken or turkey for ground beef when making tacos. Just make sure the ground poultry doesn’t have an added flavor/salt infusion.

What I ate today:

Breakfast: Hashbrown with Baked Egg White Cups with spinach and mushrooms and coffee with Trader Joe’s Coconut Creamer

Lunch:  Garbanzo, Potato, and Spinach Curry and Basmati rice

Dinner:  Tacos

Leave a Reply

