LID Round 3, Day 7

Grabbed some fruit on my way out the door this morning and ate breakfast in the car. I admit that I have a full-on mandarin orange addiction. I love those things! I can easily eat 4 or 5 a day.

I’m so glad fruit is allowed on the low iodine diet. Fruit is a filling and nutritious choice. Here are some of the fruits you can eat on LID:  Bananas, apples, peaches, pears, all berries, pineapples, mangoes, cherries (not Maraschino cherries, though because of the red food dye), all citrus, grapes, pomegranates, papaya, plums, and melons. Seeing it all written out helps me to think about everything that I can have on a low iodine diet instead of what I cannot have.

Did you know that you can have a variety of store-bought crackers while on a low iodine diet? You can! Keebler Club, Town House, and Zesta crackers are allowed, as are Nabisco Premium Saltines, Ritz, and Wheat Thin crackers. As always read ingredients lists, just in case something has changed. If a company uses iodized or sea salt, it has to be labeled as such. Most products have consumer hot lines (or you can contact the company on social media or by email) that you can call and they can answer questions about ingredients in their products.

What I ate today:

Breakfast:  Banana, strawberries, and mandarin oranges (Halos)

Lunch:  Boar’s Head Pastrami Seasoned Turkey and Keebler Club crackers

Dinner:  Spaghetti with Newman’s Own Tomato & Basil Pasta Sauce and a tossed salad with Ken’s Steakhouse Zesty Italian dressing

Leave a Reply

