LID Round 3, Day 5

Since a restricted amount of meat that can be eaten per day on LID, I find it easier for me to eat mostly vegetarian meals throughout the day and to just have a 5 – 6 ounce serving of meat at dinner.

For dinner tonight, I cooked boneless pork loin chops. Mushroom gravy compliments pork chops very well. For the gravy, I add a little bit of oil to the pan the pork chops cooked it and heat it over medium/medium-high heat. I add the mushrooms, season with non-iodized salt and pepper, and cook a minute or two. I add unsalted chicken broth (about 1 to 1 1/2 cups) to the mushrooms. I mix about a tablespoon of cornstarch with enough water to make a slurry, and slowly whisk that into the hot mushroom mixture. I let the mixture cook a few minutes, whisking continuously to avoid lumps, until thickened, but still pourable. Season with kosher salt and black pepper and serve. The mushroom gravy is good over baked chicken too.

What I ate today:

Breakfast:  Toasted Tuscan Pane bread with Earth Balance spread, 2 Mandarin oranges, coffee with non-dairy creamer

Lunch: Tossed salad with Ken’s Zesty Italian dressing

Dinner:  Pork chop with mushroom gravy, brown rice, and green beans

Leave a Reply

