LID Round 3, Day 1

I survived my first day of this round of LID.

I just found out yesterday that I was scheduled for a whole body scan on March 10th and that LID was starting today. I was committed to attending a PTSO meeting and a school board meeting last night, so I had no time to plan or shop.

I decided to take today off from work and spend time shopping for LID-safe groceries to get me through the first week. The LID Life Community was a huge resource, although I found that some of the items they had listed as safe actually were not. This can be chalked up to regional differences and recipe changes. Always read ingredient lists!!

I shopped at Earth Fare, Trader Joe’s and Publix. Here are some of the groceries I got:

Since I didn’t have time to prepare or shop, I started the day with a couple spoonfuls of peanut butter, a banana, a mandarin orange, and a Coke. I am a coffee person, but I don’t like black coffee. I need cream. And lots of sugar. Finding a LID-safe coffee creamer is a challenge.

The Sopa Ranchera is becoming a LID tradition. I have made it each time. It’s nice to have a soup on hand for quick meals. It freezes well, so it can be made ahead and kept frozen in individual servings in Ziploc bags.

What I ate today:
Breakfast:  banana, 2 spoonfuls of peanut butter, mandarin orange, Coca-Cola
Lunch:  Salad of lettuce, red cabbage, and carrots with Ken’s Steakhouse Zesty Italian dressing
Dinner:  Sopa Ranchera
Snack:  2 Oreo cookies

Leave a Reply

