Crockpot Black Bean and Barley Chili with Mushrooms and Kale (LID)

Crockpot Black Bean and Barley Chili with Mushrooms and Kale

This is a little something I cooked up this past winter. With this chili, I set out to make one thing and ended up with something totally different. That is not necessarily a bad thing. I ended up with a nutritious and hearty vegan chili that tasted great and is suitable for LID. I was happy with the results.

Just a little note about chili powder, most contain salt. Most likely, it’s non-iodized salt, but to be safe choose a chili powder that does not contain salt. I get mine from Penzey’s.

Crockpot Black Bean and Barley Chili with Mushrooms and Kale

1 large onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
16 ounces mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
1 14.5 ounce can unsalted black beans, drained
1/2 cup barley
4 cups unsalted vegetable broth (I used 4 cups water and Rapunzel Vegetable Bouillon cubes)
2 tablespoons chili powder (check ingredients, I use Penzey’s brand)
1 teaspoon cumin
non-iodized salt (I use Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt) and pepper, to taste (I used 1 teaspoon non-iodized salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper)
4 cups kale, chopped

Add all the ingredients to the crockpot. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours or on high 3 to 4 hours.

Leave a Reply

