LID Round 2, Day 7

My youngest son’s first T-Ball game was tonight. I needed a quick meal before the game and he requested waffles. I whipped up some LID-friendly waffles. I wasn’t sure if they would turn out, but my whole family ate and liked them. I forgot to take a picture, but am including the recipe I came up with at the bottom of this page.

I have looked at just about every kind of milk substitute out there. So Delicious brand coconut milk is the only one that appears to be acceptable for LID.

So Delicious

Here’s the ingredient list:

So Delicious Ingredients

The only ingredient that may be suspect is the selenium. I’m pretty sure L-selenomethionine form is an amino acid, but I know that some selenium supplements (in pill form) may be processed with kelp (high in iodine) and are a no-no. I don’t plan on using this milk substitute much during my low iodine diet, so I’m comfortable using this coconut milk. After all, it is a “low” iodine diet, not a “no” iodine diet. I only ate one waffle anyway.

LID Waffles

1 1/2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 1/2 cups So Delicious brand coconut milk
4 tablespoons canola oil
2 tablespoon egg whites
1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat a waffle iron according to directions.

Combine all the ingredients. You may need more coconut milk to get the waffle batter to the consistency you prefer.

Cook the waffles according to directions associated with your waffle iron.

Serve the waffles with maple syrup (pancake syrups contain salt and possibly other non-allowed ingredients).

For lunch I had leftover Chicken Fajita Street Tacos.

Chicken Fajita Street Tacos 2

What I ate today:
Breakfast: Coffee with non-dairy creamer
Lunch: Chicken Fajita Street Tacos
Dinner: Waffles and maple syrup

Leave a Reply

