LID Round 2, Day 1

I started on my low iodine diet (LID) today to prepare my body to go radioactive in two weeks. I will be on the diet for 16 days. During that time I cannot eat iodized or sea salt, dairy products, soy products, seafood, sea products, potato skins, whole eggs, red dyes, or anything with any of those ingredients in it. I am limited to 5 – 6 ounces of fresh meat and 4 servings of grains a day. I can go off the diet once I have my nuclear whole body scan on March 20th.

I had to do LID around this time last year. By the end of those 16 days I was pretty miserable, more psychologically than anything. I think I am better prepared this time.

I think one of the ways to be better prepared is to make changes to the things I usually eat or drink in order to make them more LID-friendly. Coffee is something I drink every single day. I usually use a flavored coffee creamer or half and half with sugar in my coffee each day. I have to have a LID-friendly alternative. Last year I used a non-dairy creamer and it was fine. This year, I wanted to try the marshmallows melted in coffee as a creamer substitute. I wasn’t into it at all. I’ll just stick with the non-dairy creamer and sugar I last year for the remainder of LID.

IMG_5222 (800x600)

Lunch was a little better. I made Cajun Okra Soup. It was good. I used chicken broth I made this weekend and froze in batches. I am going to freeze a couple of portions of this soup for next week.

Cajun Okra Soup LID I was happy with dinner too. I revamped one of my favorite Thai noodle soup recipes to make if LID-friendly. It was fantastic!

Chiang Mai Curry Noodle Soup with Vegetables

What I ate today

Breakfast: Coffee with marshmallows, cantaloupe, and red grapes
Lunch: Cajun Okra Soup
Dinner:  Chiang Mai Curry Noodle Soup with Vegetables
Snack: Tostitos and salsa

Leave a Reply

