Cajun Okra Soup (LID)

Cajun Okra Soup LID

This soup is quick and easy and freezes well. I ate my soup with a little brown basmati rice and some Texas Pete Hot Sauce.

I emailed the company that makes Texas Pete Hot Sauce to inquire about the type of salt they use in their products. I got this response:

Suzi,

I have received your inquiry regarding our Texas Pete Hot Sauce and the salt in our products.  I am pleased to inform you that we do not use iodized salt in our products.  If you should have any further questions please contact me.

Kind Regards,
Tonya E. Parker
Quality Assurance Manager
TW Garner Food Company

I’m stoked to know that I can use Texas Pete during LID! A few shakes really enhances this soup.

Cajun Okra Soup

2 tablespoons oil
1 large onion, diced
2 stalks celery, diced
1/2 green bell pepper, diced
1 14. 5 ounce can no salt added diced tomatoes (I used Hunt’s)
1 pound bag frozen sliced okra
1 zucchini, diced
6 cups unsalted vegetable or chicken broth (I used homemade chicken broth)
1/4 teaspoon thyme
1/4 teaspoon oregano
1/8 cayenne pepper (or to taste)
non-iodized salt (I use Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt)and pepper, to taste

cooked rice to serve (optional)

Heat the oil in a soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onions, celery, and bell pepper. Cook until the vegetables are tender. Add the remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil and cook until the okra and zucchini are tender. Season to taste with non-iodized salt and pepper and serve with hot rice (I used brown basmati).

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: LID Round 2, Day 1: Cajun Okra Soup | On a Butterfly's Wings
  2. Trackback: LID Round 2, Day 1 | On a Butterfly's Wings
  3. Trackback: LID Round 2, Day 2 | On a Butterfly's Wings

Leave a Reply

