Spicy Thai Cucumber Salad (LID)

Spicy Thai Cucumber Salad (LID)

I love cucumber salads. This is my favorite one. It’s adapted from a recipe in one of my all-time favorite cookbooks, The Best of Vietnamese & Thai Cooking by Mai Pham (Prima Publishing, 1996).

I often make this salad using regular cucumbers found at the grocery store. Peel and then remove the seeds before slicing. Most of the time I make this salad only using cilantro since it’s an easy-to-find and inexpensive herb. In the summer months, I also use mint and Thai basil that I grow in my garden. I love the combination of cilantro, mint, and basil in Southeast Asian foods. Use any one of these herbs or a combination when you make this salad.

Spicy Thai Cucumber Salad

2 cucumbers (English cucumbers work well), cut in half lengthwise and thinly sliced
1/2 small sweet onion, thinly sliced
1 – 3 jalapenos or other hot chile (to taste), seeded, quartered lengthwise, and thinly sliced
fresh herb(s), to taste
….fresh cilantro, chopped
….fresh mint leaves, chopped
….fresh Thai basil leaves, chopped
1/4 cup rice vinegar
1/4 cup sugar
3 tablespoons water
1/2 teaspoon non-iodized salt (I use Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt)

Combine the sliced cucumbers, onion, jalapenos, and herb(s) in a bowl. In another bowl (or measuring cup) combine the rice vinegar, sugar, water, and non-iodized salt. Pour the mixture over the cucumber salad. Mix to combine. Let sit at least 15 minutes before serving.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ema Jones
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 15:49:58

    I’m very fond of cucumber 🙂

    Reply

  2. sandraruffing
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 04:12:11

    This sounds delicious. I think I will make it tomorrow. Do you know how long a batch may store for?

    Reply

  3. sandraruffing
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 17:11:33

    Awesome thanks so much.

    Reply

    • recipesforsustenance
      Jul 20, 2015 @ 14:26:13

      Sandra, I had been replying to comments about Baba Ganoush and for some reason my mind was thinking you were asking about that recipe. Sorry. The Spicy Thai Cucumber Salad will last longer than 3 days. It is best the first couple of days, but you can keep it up to a week (maybe even longer, it is basically refrigerator pickles). The cucumbers get softer after a couple of days. I prefer them when they are crunchy. Sorry for the confusion. I hope you will let me know if you try this recipe. It’s a favorite of mine. I make it all the time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

