Gee Your Scar Doesn’t Look Terrific

I had another follow-up appointment with my surgeon today. I was hoping this would be my last visit to him. He was running two hours behind. He wasn’t happy with the way my scar looked. There’s still a lot of redness (especially where the staples were) and it itches a little bit. He thinks it should look much better and asked if I was putting anything on it that would cause a topical reaction. I have put a hydrocortisone cream on it from time to time in hopes that it would help with the itchiness and redness. It doesn’t seem to make much difference. He wants me to come back in 6 weeks.

As I was leaving his office and getting into the elevator, I caught my reflection in a mirror. I was flushed on my neck and chest. I have rosacea and tend to flush quite often, especially if I’m nervous or upset (or drink wine, eat spicy foods, am hot, etc…). I was probably flushed because I was annoyed that I was paying a babysitter $10 an hour while I sat in a lame waiting room waiting for two hours to see my doctor. : )

So, here’s what my scar looks like today. I’m 10 weeks post surgery.

photo (17) (480x640)

Leave a Reply

