LID Day 5: Egg White Migas and Pollo con Arroz

So, I finally got through to a person at the oncologist’s office and found out that the tentative dates are a go. I’ll get my Thyrogen shots on the 12th and 13th and RAI on the 14th. The lady also said I would get my whole body scan on the 14th. She gave me a number to the Nuclear Medicine Department at the hospital and told me to call them with any questions. I told her I still had some medical questions and she said the PA, nurse, or my doctor would call me back that afternoon. They didn’t.

Called my mom and she set off to find a plane ticket that wasn’t super expensive. She ended up buying two separate one-way tickets, which cost less than a round-trip ticket. Uggh. I’m still mad that the oncologist’s office’s incompetency/inability/lack of communication (whatever it was) cost us hundreds of dollars.

I’m an 8th generation Texan and Tex-Mex food is my comfort food. Apparently, I was needing some comfort today. The Migas I made for breakfast/lunch was amazing (although not pretty to look at). The Pollo con Arroz was a spur of the moment thing. It’s hard to believe that something so simple can be so delicious. I used black beans that I had prepared ahead of time and froze for a side dish. My husband made margaritas. I used a whole chicken for the Pollo con Arroz (although I really do prefer to make it with chicken breasts) and used the bones and skin to make another batch of Crockpot Chicken Broth.

What I ate today:
Breakfast: Coffee with non-dairy creamer
Lunch: Egg White Migas in corn tortillas with Tostitos
Dinner: Pollo con Arroz, black beans, and a simple salad
Extra: Margaritas

Products I used today:
Egg Beaters 100% Egg Whites
La Banderita Corn Tortillas
Tostitos Tortilla Chips
Tostitos Restaurant Style Salsa
Publix brand No Salt Tomato Sauce

LID Egg Whites Migas

 

LID Pollo con Arroz

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: LID Day 6 | On a Butterfly's Wings

Leave a Reply

