LID Day 4: Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Glaze

It’s been a rough day. I’m 11 days away from the tentative date for my RAI and I still haven’t heard anything from my oncologist’s office. The date hasn’t been confirmed. My phone calls have not been returned. I have not received any instructions on how to prepare for RAI and officially haven’t been told to start the low iodine diet. I have found out that my insurance company has approved the 2 Thyrogen shots and the RAI, but has denied any stay in the hospital. When I told them I had children, they told me they don’t admit patients in the hospital for the convenience of their family. Awesome.

I have to fly my mom in from Texas to take care of my kids while I’m in isolation and each day I don’t get confirmation, the plane fare gets more expensive, by hundreds of dollars. My credit card is almost maxed out and if I tried to buy the plane tickets tonight, they would cost more than what’s left of my credit limit. I didn’t ask for thyroid cancer! It’s not like it’s something I chose. I’m stressed out, to say the least. Thank goodness wine is allowed on LID!

At least I enjoyed my dinner (and the cupcakes). Here’s a picture:

LID Day 4 Dinner

What I ate today:
Breakfast: Coffee with non-dairy creamer
Lunch: Leftover Sopa Ranchera and Tostito’s tortilla chips
Dinner: Ribeye steak (I bought a 12 ounce steak at Trader Joe’s and split it with my hubby); roasted potatoes, parsnips, and carrots; brussel sprouts; and Zinfandel
Snack: Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Glaze

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

are cooled, top them with the chocolate glaze.

Leave a Reply

