LID Day 1: Crockpot Chicken and Homemade Chicken Broth

I still don’t have confirmation from my oncologist about the date of my RAI, but I decided to start the low-iodine diet (LID) today anyway, just in case March 14th happens. I had an appointment with the surgeon this morning and needed a quick LID breakfast. Even though, I have been thinking about LID and preparing some foods ahead of time, I was not prepared for a quick breakfast. I’ve picked up a few LID-allowed ingredients, but was planning my main grocery shopping trip this afternoon, when I could get a babysitter to watch my 4 year old. I needed to be able to read labels and you can’t take the time to read labels when you have kids with you. I ended up cutting up an apple and smearing it with cashew butter (with no added salt). I washed it down with a Coke. I usually drink coffee in the morning, but I like my coffee with lots of cream and sugar and I can’t have cream (and don’t have a non-dairy coffee creamer yet), so I had a Coke instead.

Minutes before I headed out the door to my appointment, I place a whole chicken in the crockpot on low, seasoned it with kosher salt and black pepper, and replaced the lid. It was perfectly cooked 8 hours later. Crockpot Chicken is so easy to prepare that even someone in the throes of hypo Hell could pull it off. Making stock from the left over bones and skin is super easy too.

Crockpot Chicken (640x480)

Crockpot Chicken

1 whole chicken (I prefer hormone and antibiotic free)
non-iodized (I use Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt) salt and black pepper to taste

Some whole chickens have a packet of giblets inside. Remove any giblets and save for making stock. Rinse the chicken in cold water and pat dry with paper towels. Place the whole chicken in the crockpot. Season with non-iodized salt and pepper. There is no need to add any liquid but you could add other flavoring ingredients like garlic, herbs, vegetables (carrots, celery, onion), or citrus fruits (lemons, limes) at this time. I like crockpot chicken with a couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary and a whole lemon (cut in half). Replace the lid and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours or on high for 3 to 4 hours. The meat will be tender, moist, and falling off the bone. Remove all the meat and return the bones, skin, and any left over bits to the crockpot to make stock.

Crockpot Chicken Stock

chicken bones and skin from Crockpot Chicken
1/2 onion, chopped
1 carrot, scrubbed and chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
2 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
2 bay leaves
1 tablespoon of whole pepper corns
non-iodized salt (I use Morton’s Coarse Kosher Salt), to taste

Once your whole chicken has finished cooking, remove it from the crockpot. Remove all the meat and return any bones, skin, and anything leftover to the crockpot. Add the reserved giblets, if you have them. Add the chopped onion, celery, and carrot, as well as, the garlic cloves, bay leaves, and black peppercorns. Fill the crockpot almost to the top with filtered water. Cook in the crockpot on low for 8 hours or on high for 4 hours.

Making Chicken Stock (640x480)

Season to taste with non-iodized salt. When stock has finished cooking, ladle into a fine sieve to strain out the bones, veggies, herbs, etc… You can line the sieve with cheesecloth or a paper towel to strain the finer bits, if you like.

Straining Chicken Stock (640x458)

Refrigerate the stock. The fat will rise to the top and solidify. Skim off the fat before using the stock. I measure out the stock in 2 cups portions and freeze in a labeled Ziploc freezer bag for future use. It is okay if your stock is gelatinous. Some people prefer it that way and think it’s more nutritious. It will liquefy when heated.

Today’s LID Menu:

Breakfast: An apple with cashew butter and a Coca-Cola
Lunch: A steamed artichoke with a dipping sauce made with lemon juice, olive oil, and garlic
Dinner: Chicken breast (from Crockpot Chicken), pan-fried potatoes, and fresh green beans
Snack: Slice of no sodium whole wheat bread smeared with unsalted peanut butter and cherry preserves and 1/2 a banana

Here’s a picture of tonight’s dinner:

LID Day 1 Dinner (640x480)

Products I used today:

365 brand cashew butter from Whole Foods
Trader Joe’s No Sodium Whole Wheat Bread
Trader Joe’s Unsalted Peanut Butter
Smucker’s Cherry Preserves
Hunt’s Ketchup – No Salt Added

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: LID Day 2: Sopa Ranchera, Chicken and Noodles, and Beer Bread | On a Butterfly's Wings
  2. Trackback: LID Day 5: Egg White Migas and Pollo con Arroz | On a Butterfly's Wings
  3. Trackback: Cajun Okra Soup (LID) | On a Butterfly's Wings
  4. Trackback: Baked Chicken Taquitos (LID) | On a Butterfly's Wings
  5. Trackback: Baked Chicken Taquitos | Recipes for Sustenance
  6. Trackback: Chicken and Noodles (LID) | On a Butterfly's Wings

Leave a Reply

