Sneak Peak of My Post-Surgery Neck

It’s been 4 days since my total thyroidectomy. I got a sneak peak at my post-surgery neck today. Horrifying. I haven’t even seen the whole thing, but my husband has. He says it’s not symmetrical and he thinks that is going to drive me insane (I’m a bit OCD). We will see. It may not bother me at all.

sneak peak neck

I’m feeling a little better each day. I was totally unprepared for the level of exhaustion and weakness I am feeling. So grateful that my mom is here to help with the house and kids. She amazes me.

Saw my surgeon today. He had not received the final pathology report yet. I’ll have to wait another week. I’ll feel better once I find out that it has not spread to the lymph nodes. His office set up an appointment for me to meet with an oncologist next week. I’m cleared to get my incision wet and take a shower tomorrow. I’m happy about being able to shower again. The little things.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle davis
    Jul 29, 2016 @ 05:53:56

    Hi there. Wow what a incision ! It healed very well! I’m supposed to have a thyroidectomy in 6 weeks and I’m terrified. How was your swelling and pain after? I hope you are still doing well.

    Reply

    • recipesforsustenance
      Jul 29, 2016 @ 17:21:03

      Hi Michelle, I know it’s hard, but try not to worry about your upcoming thyroidectomy. I had very little swelling and almost no pain. In fact, I asked to not have to take pain medication after my surgery (the way the pain meds made me feel was worse than the discomfort). Tylenol took care of what very little discomfort I had. The worst part was the sore throat from the breathing tube. Ice chips and cold drinks helped with that. I was back to normal in 3 to 4 days. In all, I think it is an easy surgery as long as there are not complications. I don’t think most doctor’s make as large of an incision as mine did. He opened me up a little further to remove some lymph nodes and to check for spreading. The incision’s in the crease of my neck and I barely even notice it now. People don’t seem to notice it. Afterwards, I felt tired and weak and the aftereffects of the anethesia were not not fun, but not terrible. Now, I have had more good days than bad. I’m doing very well. I actually feel better now than I did before my thyroidectomy. It takes about a year to get thyroid hormone replacement levels figured out. Ask for a brand of your levothyroxine….the generics don’t provide a consistent/reliable dosage. Read all you can on thyroid meds and the tests. Knowledge is power. : ) I hope all goes well for you. I’ll keep a good thought for you. : ) Feel free to message me back if you have any more questions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

